h1

Production B Assignment

04/06/2009

For my Production B assignment I chose to do a Geo-narrative. I made this choice based on how I have travelled the world, have my own stories to tell, and have so many of my own photographs. However rather than making a narrative on the map close to home, or jumping to and from different countries, I situated the story strictly within the French Quarter of New Orleans and based it on a night out on Bourbon Street.

There were a number of technical process’s available for making a Geo-narrative. I used Google maps as a platform for creating my story. Google maps in itself has an enormous amount of data and images within it. It basically has the entire world mapped out to the extend that you can zoom right in to street view on any street in any place in the world. This really aided the narrative of my story as the audience can feel very close to what was happening, and can even experience my story at street view.. Also because my Geo – narrative was very image based, I used photoshop to create detailed and effective images. I used a lot of my own images, and pasted images of myself into the photo’s which gave the narrative a better sense of character and development as the story progressed.  However, I encountered a number of problems when creating way points. Firstly, creating icons was one way google maps offered to allow your way points to correspond to actual events in the story. For example I used a martini glass icon to correspond to visiting the ‘Bourbon Rocks Bar’, and I used an anchor icon to correspond to the ‘River Boat Cruise’. However aside from the fairly limited list of icons it provided, customization of the way point text boxes were very limited. Another major problem I encountered was not being able to edit the width of the text boxes, meaning that some of the text would then be off the box and difficult to read. I think a more diverse range of  tools for customizing would benefit google maps for these sorts of narratives. 

On the world wide web, Geo-narratives are a fairly original idea and their wasn’t a great deal of other work to relate mine to. However, because of the popularity of Bourbon street and New Orleans in particular which featured as the location in my narrative, there were vast amounts of photo’s uploaded to flicker by other users relating to the photo’s I took overseas in New Orleans. I was able to draw upon these images, and with effective licencing I was able to use them to help narrate my story. Again with proper permission and by utilizing the creative commons photo library on flicker, I was able to use photoshop to modify and tailor my images to fit the story line. Also I think my narrative effectively drew on the work of others through detail and accompanying links. For example when I talked about the popular New Orleans drink, the ‘Hurricane’, I created a seperate link to a page that goes into more detail. Like wise when I talked about Tiga the rapper, I created a link to his myspace page, which further describes what he does. These images and links give the audience a greater insight to the different elements of the story, as well as creating a network of similar sorts of work. 

I think my Geo-narrative uses it’s small location effectively so the story is sequenced and easy to follow, as well as effective images that correspond with text that describes the story. Below is a link to my Geo-narrative.

Production Assignment B

Leave a Reply

